Review: Porter by Georgia Cates

ecc70-porter2bebook2bcoverTitle: Porter (Men of Lovibond #3)
Author: Georgia Cates
Release date: August 4th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

 

Craft beer and the sexy men who brew it.
My employee’s daughter. The tomboy. The kid who once did odd jobs around the brewery. That’s all she was… until three years passed and she walked into my office for an interview.
Frankee Dawson is no longer that girl I once called Kiddo. She’s grown into a beautiful, sexy, desirable woman. Very desirable. And that’s a problem. She’s my employee’s daughter. Lovibond family. And too young for me. Too innocent.
I want to feel her respond to my kiss.
I want her body to tremble as she anticipates my touch.
I want to learn all the places that bring her pleasure.
But mostly I want her to know that she’s never truly been loved by a man until me.
Frankee is my intern and under me for the summer. Literally. It’s a difficult secret to maintain when you can’t keep your hands off each other.
This was supposed to be a hot summer fling. Sex and fun without commitment. That’s what we called it. But we were wrong. This is more. I’ve never felt this way about a woman. Never cared more about someone else’s happiness more than my own.
I love her. And I’m happy, so damn happy… until a terrible mistake from my past springs forward and threatens to rip us apart.
There are a million reasons for her to leave me. And trust me, she should. But all I really need is one good reason for her to stay.

The Characters

Frankee: 21 years old, graduated college in 3 years with an Fine Arts degree. She had a crush on Porter since she was 16. She has two little brothers and two lovely parents that are still together. She planned to work in Lovibond Brewery for the Summer and then goes to live in Austin with her two bestfriends.

Porter: 30 years old, you saw him in the first two books of the series. Owned the Lovibond Brewery. He still has his two parents, also have a brother and a sister and a couple of nephews (I loved them they were so funny when they tried to scared people in their bedroom, at night… ).

The Story

Porter and Frankee knew each other a few years ago because Frankee’s father works for Lovibond Brewery for 5 years now. The last time they met was 3 years ago before Frankee went to college. Fastforward 3 years, Porter is looking for a summer intern for a full time graphic design and marketing position for the brewery. Frankee went to the interview but Porter didn’t immediately recognize her until she made him guess who she was. He took her as the intern after the interview (and after saying she was beautiful and had a look on her cleavage). So they start working together and each morning Porter is bringing her coffee, he is offering her some gifts until after some times they decided to be together without putting a label on it.

My Thoughts

I hate writing review when I didn’t like the book 100%. I know authors take a long time and a lot of efforts to write a book so it pains me to write negative thoughts about a book. But you can always love a book right? Even when you thougts it would be good, sometimes you are just disappointed and it’s okay.

Anyway, Porter can be read as a standalone I guess. But honestly, I read the first 2 books last year and I feel like I was missing something and I wished I had to time to re-read the first 2 books to maybe enjoy more this one. It’s not that I hated the book, I enjoy it until the 65-ish% mark.

The first 65% I liked them. I liked the story, I liked the fact that they had only 3 months together even if you knew that at the end they will end together. I liked the promise of them working together and that Frankee was the daughter of one of Porter’s employee. I guess the story could have stay on this road and I would have enjoyed it a lot more.

But then at 65% troubles came and I am talking about big, annoying, clichéd troubles. And I hated it. I disliked how the story turned out, disliked how it seems easy for Frankee to accept it but most of all I hated how they treated the new characters. Yes she was crazy but I think all the name calling and Porter’s coldness could have been a little less apparent. I don’t know, I might not have been in the mood and if I read this book another day it would have been ok and I am sure a lot of people would love it but the last 35% wasn’t for me at all. It’s what made me dislike the book and I had a hard time liking the characters so it didn’t help either.

Anyway, I love Georgia Cates’ writing so I will definitely read her other new releases. I can’t love all of the books from an author, I know that even if it makes me sad. And I guess I am growing up in my books taste. Maybe it’s the fact that I opened a blog to review my thoughts on books that makes me be more complicated and demanding. I don’t know, it is what it is.

Cover:  4 ⭐️                           Enjoyment:  3.5 ⭐️
Writing:  4 ⭐️                       Characters: 3  ⭐️
Plot:  3 ⭐️                              Pairing: 3  ⭐️

                                                                           Average: 3.3  ⭐️

4 commentaires sur “Review: Porter by Georgia Cates

Laisser un commentaire

