Review: Black by K.L. Grayson

35103493

Title:
Author:
Release date:

Goodreads
Amazon

Family.
Everyone has one.
Some are close.
Some are dysfunctional.
Some are simply gone.

Nine-year-old Shae Black entered the Witness Protection Program after the murder of her father, mob boss Luca DiMarco. New name. New identity. And a ready-made family that had no idea who she really was.

Fourteen years later, a letter from a ghost thrusts Shae back into the life she was forced to leave behind. As secrets unravel, revealing unexpected truths, Shae sees an opportunity to avenge her father’s death by destroying patriarch Sal Ambrosi, the man responsible for her father’s murder. Getting to the heart of the family will be difficult, but nothing and no one is going to stop her—not even the heirs to the Ambrosi family empire.

She’s prepared for the two brothers, Dante and Rex, to put up a fight, but she isn’t at all prepared for the danger they will bring to her life and her heart.

One will love her.
One will hate her.
One will vow to protect her.
One will vow to kill her.

All in the name of family.

Black is the second book I read from K.L. Grayson. I totally loved A Lover’s Lament last year, was one of my favourite of 2015 (woow already 2 years…), so my expectations were very high with Black.

Black is decribed by a lot of people as a mafia family type of book. I agree that there is some family crime elements, mostly in the past but it’s not a full mafia type of book. Just to warn you, if like me, you were expected a mafia type of book like The American Savages by J.J. McAvoy, it won’t be the case, in my opinion.

The Characters

Shae: she lost her family 14 years ago. She has no memories of what happened that night. She just remembered meeting her bestfriend JJ and later her other BFF Erin. After being fired from her last job, she decided to go to Chicago to recover her memories. In Chicago she will find a job as an event planner.

Rex: live in Chicago, sexy, rich. His family owned a lot of business: club, restaurant… You learned quickly that his father is part of a crime family. He also has a brother, Dante. But both brother don’t want to be involve in the family, they do everything they can to be as far as possible from this life.

The Story (might countain little spoilers)

Shae decided to go back to Chicago after being fired and with her psychologist’s advice, to recover the memories of the night her family got killed. When she arrived in Chicago, lost, she is observing the old buildings, hoping to remember something when she bumped into Rex. With no surprises, Rex wants to invit her to dinner or be her guide. She refused his proposition and went to JJ and Erin’s house. Erin’s wedding being in a few weeks, they decided to organise a bachelorette party but both men and women will be at the same party, think of a big party to celebrate Erin and Jacob’s soon wedding. And where does the party takes place? Who knows Erin/Jacob? You get it, Rex is the owner of the club where the party is and knows the future marrued couple. So Rex and Shae met again and decided to enter this one night type of relationship, obviously without success as they would want more after that one night.

My thoughts

I really really like this book, I had a great time reading it. I’ll talk about the things I like first. I like the characters, especially Rex, he was great, it was a delight to read his love for Shae. I really like to know bit by bit Shae’s past. gthe writing was really good, it’s actually a big part of my rating, the stylme is so fluid and lovely to read. And finally the plot, it was good but except for one thing, it was predictable.

And it’s my biggest issues with this book. I mean in the first 50 pages, I already knew how the story was going to end. It was too much predictable, except for one twist that I didn’t really see coming but otherwise, there was no surprises for me.
My second issues as I was saying at the beginning, is that I wanted more of the crime family background. I mean, I didn’t read the synopsis before and maybe it was written in it, but I was expected a male characters being deep into the crime family but he wants nothing to do with it. So I will not say it’s a mafia book, it’s a romance book with mafia elements in it.

And after reading the synopsis, the « blurb » is kind of a lie. I mean (maybe I don’t understand it well seeing as english isn’t my first language) but it leads you towards a story where Shae will infiltrate Rex’s family, using all methods she can to avenge her family. It doesn’t happened, yes she wants to avenge her father but she doesn’t infiltrate the Ambrosi’s family…

But like I said, I did like this book and enjoyed myself reading it, my issues are mostly due to my expectations, I did expect things and got something completely different. And it’s not necessarely a bad thing!

P.S: I don’t know if Dante will have his own book but I hope so! The ending makes me wants more! I want to know what happens to Dante!!

Cover: 4  ⭐️                           Enjoyment: 4  ⭐️
Writing: 4.5  ⭐️                       Characters: 4.5  ⭐️
Plot: 3.5  ⭐️                              Pairing: 4.5  ⭐️

                                                                Average: 4,2  ⭐️

Laisser un commentaire

