Review: Shacking Up by Helena Hunting

33838194Title: Shacking Up
Author: Helena Hunting
Release date: May 30th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

 

 

 

Ruby Scott is months behind on rent and can’t seem to land a steady job. She has one chance to turn things around with a big audition. But instead of getting her big break, she gets sick as a dog and completely bombs it in the most humiliating fashion. All thanks to a mysterious, gorgeous guy who kissed—and then coughed on—her at a party the night before.
Luckily, her best friend might have found the perfect opportunity; a job staying at the lavish penthouse apartment of hotel magnate Bancroft Mills while he’s out of town, taking care of his exotic pets. But when the newly-evicted Ruby arrives to meet her new employer, it turns out Bane is the same guy who got her sick.
Seeing his role in Ruby’s dilemma, Bane offers her a permanent job as his live-in pet sitter until she can get back on her feet. Filled with hilariously awkward encounters and enough sexual tension to heat a New York City block, Shacking Up, from NYT and USA Today bestselling author Helena Hunting, is sure to keep you laughing and swooning all night long.

It’s been such a long time since I wrote a review. Most of my previous reviews way written way in advance and then I was (and still am) in a fantasy mood.

I love romance books but for the past few weeks, I got bored reading them. Most of the books I read didn’t blow my mind and they looked all the same. So I decided to see other genre of books and stopped at fantasy books. And I fell even more in love with the genre. I read a few of them in the past years but I got really invest in it this year. So basically I binged read A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas and just ended bonge reading the Throne of Glass series by the same author. I was in big book slump after that. So I decided to pick up one of my trusty romance author. That’s how I ended reading Shacking Up by Helena Hunting. My next few romance reads should be The Clover Chapel by Devney Perry, the Real Dirty Duet by Meghan March and Sweet Torment by Georgia Cates.

Anyway, let’s go back to the review. Shacking Up is about Banecroft and Ruby. Ruby is the daughter of a pharmaceutical businessman but didn’t want to have anything to do with it. She decided to study art in College (singing, dancing and playing) and she is in New York to play in a Theater piece.
Banecroft is an ancient international Rugby player. He promised his father to work for the Hotel business once his rugby carreer was over.

Banecroft and Ruby first met in Ruby’s best friend, Amie, engagement party. She was going out of the bathroom and collides with Banecroft. Banecroft thought she was his date and started to kiss her and then… coughed on her… what a lovely first meeting! Unfortunately for Ruby, she got sick that night and got sick on her audition and let me tell you it wasn’t pretty.
Anyway, Amie heard about it and thought it was a good idea to help Ruby find a new job as a pet sitter for… Banecroft. And that’s how the story begins.

I really liked this story. It was light, fluffy, cute, hot and sexy! They are the first words that came to my mind when I think about this book. And it’s the first time I loved an animal this much in a book!
Banecroft is the hot, athletic guy who was a lot on the road when he was a rugby player so he was really into having a serious relationship with a woman. But since he started working for his father, he is still traveling a lot for his job and he isn’t sure a relationship is a good choice for now. But he didn’t see Ruby coming and she will change his mind.
Ruby has a complicated relationship with his father. He wasn’t happy that his daughter choose to be an artist and decided to cut off money so she will come home and works for him. It didn’t work really well as Ruby always find a way to take care of herself. I really liked her characters, she was funny and her couple was Banecroft was cute.

I might have hope that we had a little more of them and that their couple were more developped but it was an enjoyable read. It was easy to read, no complication, a perfect Summer read. I loved Helena Hunting writing style, her books (The Pucked series is awesome) and I wasn’t disappointed with this new standalone.

If you are looking for a nice, hot, fast romance for this summer, Shacking Up might be for you!

Cover: 2.5  ⭐️                           Enjoyment: 4  ⭐️
Writing: 4  ⭐️                       Characters: 4  ⭐️
Plot: 4  ⭐️                              Pairing: 4  ⭐️

Average: 4  ⭐️

 

Laisser un commentaire

