Review: Mister Moneybags – Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

32848470Title: Mister Moneybags
Authors: Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward
Release date: April 8th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

I met Bianca in an elevator.
She was on her way to interview me when we got stuck.
The beautiful, raven-haired reporter assumed I was a delivery guy because of the way I was dressed.
She had no clue I was really Dex Truitt, the wealthy, successful businessman she’d dubbed “Mister Moneybags”—her afternoon appointment.
Bianca told me how much she hated Dex’s type—snobby, over educated, silver- spooned men who didn’t appreciate the simple things in life.
So, after the elevator finally started moving again, I cancelled the interview and let her believe I was someone I wasn’t—a bike messenger named Jay. I loved the way she looked at the fake me and didn’t want it to end.
I began dating her as “Jay”—all the while letting her interview the real me over email.
I didn’t expect that our chemistry online would be just as hot.
I didn’t expect the mess I’d gotten myself into.
I didn’t expect that Jay and Dex would fall in love with her.
And she was falling for two men.
Only, both men were me.
And when she found out, we were both going to lose her.
Nothing could have prepared me for that day. And I certainly wasn’t prepared for what came after.
All good things must come to an end, right?
Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.

 I think this duo formed by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward is one of the best. Their stories are always awesome and full of surprises. Mister Moneybags is the fourth standalones that they wrote together and it was fantastic.

This story is so much more than the blurb. It was so much that what I was anticipated. In a sense, it was full of suspense and there was a lot of twists. If I had to choose two words to describe this book I would say addictive and surprising. I had to stop reading it to sleep but if I had started it in the morning I would definitely have read this book in one seating. You don’t want to put it down, you want to know what happened next. And I am only talking about the story, the characters were awesome both Dex and Bianca. I am not the biggest fan when lying is used a lot of time in a book but strangely I wasn’t bothered with it in Mister Moneybags.

Anyway, as I was saying, in Mister Moneybags we are following Dex and Bianca. Dex is the CEO of a multi-million enterprise. He is cocky and the definition of a sexy, dirty mouth man. But he is also sweet, romantic and you can’t help but fell in love with this man.
Bianca is a finance journalist, she hates liar, she is a strong woman, kind of looking for « revenge ».

Dex and Bianca met for the first time in an elevator. Bianca is there to interview Dex but she got stuck in there with a man. The man itself is Dex but she doesn’t know that. They talked and decided to see each other after Bianca’s interview was canceled (no kidding). So Dex rescheduled his interview with Bianca but instead of doing it face to face, he decided to do it via email.
Honestly I thought the story will revolve around this story line and I was okay with that. But it was so much more! This story line was for about half the book and then it was a totally different matter. And while the first half was light, funny, the second half was more emotional and so much more than « I love this woman, let’s live together forever ». They had so many obstacles to overcome and this big one that bring some suspense in this story. I honestly was so surprised about how the story turned out.

Oh and even in the « darkest » time of this book, it was full of sexual tension and sexual innuendos and I laugh so much everytime I read one. It was so well done!

The epilogue, my favorite part of a book because you know it’s where HEA happens, was amazing and the perfect ending for both of them. It was sweet, lovely and I loved reading about them a few years later. Quite honestly this book has everything I expect in a book: a great story, fantastic characters and an awesome writing.

I do not know if we wall have more book but the 4 books were so so good for their own reasons. I really can’t wait for their next work together if there is one.

Time to rate Mister Moneybags (I don’t know why but I always type Dirty Moneybags… maybe it’s because of Dex’s dirty mouth…):

Cover: 4.5  ⭐️                           Enjoyment: 5  ⭐️
Writing: 5  ⭐️                       Characters: 5  ⭐️
Plot: 5  ⭐️                              Pairing: 5 ⭐️

Average: 5  ⭐️

Mister Moneybags might be one of my favourite read of 2017, I am still not sure. I really loved it but I don’t know if it goes into that list. We shall see how I feel in a couple of days.
It’s always so hard to write a review just after finishing a book. Your thoughts are not really organised because of all the feeling of the book but in the other hands if I wait a couple of days to write a review I am afraid of forgetting things so…

Un commentaire sur “Review: Mister Moneybags – Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

Laisser un commentaire

