Review: Mixed Up – Emma Hart

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00022]Title: Mixed Up
Author: Emma Hart
Release date: April 18th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

Dirty cocktails, deadly enemies with a red-hot attraction, and one big, crazy, Greek family–what could possibly go wrong?

Hiring my brother’s best friend was not on my to-do list.
Neither was he.

Expanding my dirty cocktail bar into food was supposed to be easy, except finding a chef in my little town of Whiskey Key is anything but.
Until Parker Hamilton comes home–bringing his Michelin starred chef’s hat with him.
He has no work. I need someone like him in my new kitchen.
There’s just one problem: I hate his cocky, filthy-mouthed, sexy-as-hell guts.
Even if I might want him. Just a little…

Working for my best friend’s sister? Not on my to-do list.
She’s another story.

Whiskey Key was supposed to be a relaxing vacation, except I haven’t reached the heights I have by lying in a hammock drinking cocktails. So when Raven Archer is desperate for a chef, I offer up my skills.
I’m bored. She needs what I can give her.
Except there’s a problem: I’ve always hated her.
Her and her big, blue eyes, sassy mouth, and killer curves.
If only I didn’t want her.

Mixed Up is a standalone, enemies-to-lovers romance. It’s red-hot and hilarious, so grab a glass and get comfy!

 I just finished Mixed Up by Emma Hart and I have so many mixed feelings about this book… Mixed Up is a new ennemies to lovers romance. Like I already said, it’s one of my favourite kind of book and I read a lot of them. I love the tension between protagonists in this type of book and generally there are some funny quotes.

Anyway, back to Mixed Up. We are following Parker and Raven in this book. Raven (just saying, I love her name!) is a mixologist in her own bar and wants to expend it by proposing food. So at the beginning of the story she is looking for a chef but find no one. She begged her brother to help her (because he is also a chef) but he can’t so he proposed she called his best-friend Parker.  Obviously she doesn’t want to do it because she hate him but will do it at the end, having no other choices.
Parker is a Michel stars chef and he is back in his hometown for the summer after receiving his third stars. He will help Raven in her bar by being the chef.

Let’s talk a little about the characters. Raven is a sassy, fierce young woman with a very bad personality. I really liked her and how she was with Parker and all of family. Parker is more « quiet », well outside the kitchen, he is totally different in the kitchen. I wasn’t his biggest fan but he was okay.
To be honest I have a problem with Raven’s family. They were funny, I liked them. But am I the only one thinking that they look a lot (maybe too much) like Noelle in the Holly Wood Files series? I mean we have the same kind of grandma, the crazy foreign family. I mean the only thing changing between these two, apart from the name, is the fact that in this book they are Greek and in the Holly Wood Files series they are Italian. And quite honestly it bugs me, I just had the impression to read about the same characters.

It also doesn’t help that while I loved Raven and Parker separately, when they became a couple I didn’t believe in it. I couldn’t feel the sexual tension between them and couldn’t get involve with this couple. I feel sad about it because I really wanted to love them :(.

Oh but one thing that make me laugh EVERY SINGLE TIME is the cocktail’s names. I don’t drink alcohol at all but I would love to read a cocktail menu like this one! Honestly the names were pretty awesome!

The story was really enjoyable, I wasn’t bored reading it (far from it), the writing was very good, it was a light funny read. I just couldn’t connect with Raven and Parker as a couple sadly.

I will definitely pick up Emma Hart’s next book. I love this author and even if Mixed isn’t one of my favourite book from her, I really enjoy reading her books. My favourite books being the Holly Wood Files series, this series is just awesome, you should check it out!

Anyway, time to rate Mixed Up!

Cover: 4  ⭐️                           Enjoyment: 3.5  ⭐️
Writing: 4  ⭐️                       Characters: 3.5  ⭐️
Plot: 3.5  ⭐️                              Pairing: 3 ⭐️

Average: 3.5  ⭐️

Un commentaire sur “Review: Mixed Up – Emma Hart

Laisser un commentaire

