Review: The Friend Zone – Kristen Callihan

23122175Title: The Friend Zone (Game On #2)
Author: Kristen Callihan
Release date: May 5th 2015

Goodreads
Amazon

Gray doesn’t make friends with women. He has sex with them. Until Ivy. 

The last thing star tight-end Gray Grayson wants to do is drive his agent’s daughter’s bubblegum pink car. But he needs the wheels and she’s studying abroad. Something he explains when she sends him an irate text to let him know exactly how much pain she’ll put him in if he crashes her beloved ride. Before he knows it, Ivy Mackenzie has become his best texting bud. But then Ivy comes home and everything goes haywire. Because the only thing Gray can think of is being with Ivy.

Ivy doesn’t have sex with friends. Especially not with a certain football player. No matter how hot he makes her… 

Gray drives Ivy crazy. He’s irreverent, sex on a stick, and completely off limits. Because, Ivy has one golden rule: never get involved with one of her father’s clients. A rule that’s proving harder to keep now that Gray is doing his best to seduce her. Her best friend is fast becoming the most irresistible guy she’s ever met.

Which means Gray is going to have to use all his skills to get himself out of the friend zone and into Ivy’s heart. Game on

I loved the first book, The Hook Up, but I loved The Friend Zone even more.  It has everything. I loved Gray, I loved Ivy, I loved their couple and the story. I loved it the first time and still love it as much the second time.

Starting with the characters. Kristen Callihan writes amazing characters. Gray and Ivy were amazing.

Gray was hot, fun, a little insecure and had a shitty past but he was so lovely. What I love in this series, at least for the first two books, is that it’s always the male characters knowing first that he fell in love with the female. One thing I loved is that, like the first book, we don’t see his womanizing days, it is truly focused on the present and the couple he formed with Ivy. He was such a romantic when he wanted to be and when I say that, I am talking about the stadium scene!
If you don’t know who is Gray, we met him in the first book, he is Drew’s best friend.

Ivy, oh Ivy I loved her. She is the daughter of a big sport agent. If you read The Hook Up you might remember at the end of the book, Gray drove a pink car. This car was Ivy’s. She is a lovely character, she is strong, funny with a little insecurities but we all have them. I love her sister’s too, Fiona.

The prologue of The Friend Zone might be one of the best. We start the book with a text exchange between Ivy and Gray about Ivy’s car and it was so funny! Like in the first 5 pages and through sms, you feel the tension between them. And the scene just after, at the airport was so cute when he met her in real life for the first time.

One thing that’s great in this story, it’s the romance development. It’s not too fast nor too slow. It’s the best pace. They have the time to know about the other even if at the end they   realise that they loved each other since the beginning, it is not an insta love story. Both Ivy and Gray had issues with what they think they should be aka Gray doesn’t want a relationship and Ivy doesn’t want a friendship with benefits.  Loved the fact that each time it’s the male that fell in love first.

One positive point is that, like the first book, exes are not present and families doesn’t really interfere with the relationship. I don’t know for you but sometimes it feels too cliched, I like when the characters just live their love and live their life. So not too much dramas even if you have some tiny angsty part that are great for the story.

My favourite part of a book, the ending. The epilogue was soooo short but so great. Loved seeing them a few years later. I really hope Kristen Callihan will write a book with all the couple a couple of years later. I want to know what they became even if we have a tiny glimpse of it at the end of each book, it’s not enough, I want more!

I re-read book 1 and 2 in 2 or 3 days, loved each book and each couple but if I had to choose, I think I prefer the second book. They are both great but Gray. Maybe it will change after reading book 3. To be quite honest, I don’t remember what happened in the third book. I only know it’s about Ivy’s sister, Fiona and Gray’s teammate, Ethan Dexter. And I know that because I read the blurb.

Time to rate The Friend Zone. When I read it in 2015, I gave it 5 out of 5 stars. Will my opinion change?

Cover: 4.5  ⭐️                           Enjoyment: 5  ⭐️
Writing: 5  ⭐️                       Characters: 5  ⭐️
Plot: 4.5  ⭐️                              Pairing: 5  ⭐️

Average: 4.9  ⭐️

We can say my opinion hasn’t change and it’s still a 5 out of 5 stars! Can’t wait to read The Game Plan!

Laisser un commentaire

