Review: The Banker – Piper Rayne

33809982Title: The Banker (Modern Love #3)
Author: Piper Rayne
Release date: April 5th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

Who knew my brother’s friend could be Mr. Right, and not just Mr. Right Now? 

My brother refused to introduce me, so I blame him. If he’d just caved, and introduced me to Jasper, I wouldn’t be in this mess. I mean, really, what’s the big deal? I’m not interested in the guy’s looks. 

Oh no, I want his cold hard cash. (Be honest, you were expecting that other four letter ‘c’ word weren’t you?) 

Now, before you go getting all judgy, I’m not a gold digger. I have a legitimate business opportunity for Jasper to invest in. The problem is that my stick-up-his-ass brother is embarrassed that his twin sister invents kick ass sex toys. His problem, not mine. 

So, I took matters into my own hands. Defeat isn’t a word in Lennon Hart’s dictionary. 

Using my stealthy P.I. moves, I narrowed my search to a time and place where I knew I could find him. It was completely innocent. A chance meeting that would give me the opportunity to pitch my business. 

It wasn’t until I sat down across from the gorgeous panty soaking man in front of me, that I realized I wanted so much more than just his money. I could very well want his heart if I wasn’t careful. 

Apparently my P.I. skills aren’t as stellar as I thought because Jasper had his own secret—and it changed EVERYTHING. 

The Banker is the third book of the Modern Love series. It technically be read as a standalone but it’s always better when you read all the previous books before.

You can read my review for the previous two books here:
The Bartender
The Boxer

Do you remember when I told you in my review of The Boxer that I was so excited about Lennon’s story?  I was excited but at the same time afraid to be disappointed with her book because she is my favourite characters between the 3 girls. But let me tell you, I was far from disappointed, this book has everything I wanted and even more.

In The Banker you learn so much more about Lennon. You learn that she has 3 brothers, that her parents wasn’t always « accepting « of her and that she felt a little rejected. But what I loved most is that it was the Lennon I imagined. You have the Lennon you meet in the first 2 books and even more. Yes you have this funny, free spirit, dirty mouth Lennon but you will meet with this soft, loving Lennon that I love as much. Honestly this girl was awesome.
You will also meet Jasper, Lennon’s brother’s mentor. He was the male version of Lennon! He was so awesome, I loved him! I think I loved him more than Cole. I might say that the twist in his story was awesome! I didn’t see it coming and it was nice, it allowed us to see another side of him and Lennon. The only thing I didn’t really like was his mother. Even if I can understand where she is from, she was just too much sometimes.

I think The Banker is the most completed book, at least for me. Like I said, I had very high expectations with the Banker and was so happy with how the story turns out. I won’t tell more about the characters or the story because it would spoil you and I think it’s bettr if you go blind, but the twist in this story add some cuteness to the story!

The only negative point I find in this series, and I see it because I read the three book back to back, is the similar scheme happening in them. I mean in each book, each characters has a secret he/she kept from the others, one secret is revealed but the other not. And near the end, the second secret is revealed and it caused trouble to the couple. It was a little repetitve even if as I said, I enjoyed reading each book.

I don’t know if we will have more book in this series but I need more of Lennon and Jasper! The ending was so cute and perfect, I need a glimpse of their life a few years later!

Let’s rate this book, can you tell I am so excited about this book? Loved it, the best in the series in my opinion!

Cover: 3.5  ⭐️                           Enjoyment: 4.5  ⭐️
Writing: 4  ⭐️                       Characters: 5  ⭐️
Plot: 4.5 ⭐️                              Pairing: 5  ⭐️

Average: 4.6  ⭐️

I am so glad I read these books! They are fast read with great stories. And it allowed me to read a new author. I will definitely check out her next books!

Un commentaire sur “Review: The Banker – Piper Rayne

Laisser un commentaire

