Review: Dirty Filthy Rich Men – Laurelin Paige

321450911

Title: Dirthy Filthy Rich Men (Dirty Duet #1)
Author: Laurelin Paige
Release date: March 27th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

The prequel, Dirty Filthy Rich Boys, is free on Amazon!

This review of Dirty Filthy Rich Men will also include my review of the novella prequel, Dirty Filthy Rich Boys.

When I met Donovan Kincaid, I knew he was rich. I didn’t know he was filthy. Truth be told, I was only trying to get his best friend to notice me.

I knew poor scholarship girls like me didn’t stand a chance against guys like Weston King and Donovan Kincaid, but I was in love with his world, their world, of parties and sex and power. I knew what I wanted—I knew who I wanted—until one night, their world tried to bite me back and Donovan saved me. He saved me, and then Weston finally noticed me, and I finally learned what it was to be in their world.

And then what it was like to lose it.

Ten years later, I’ve found my way back. Back to their world. Back to him.

This time, I’m ready. I’ve been down this road before, and I know all the dirty, filthy ways Donovan will try and wreck me. 

But it’s hard to resist. Especially when I know how much I’ll like it.

From NYT Bestselling author Laurelin Paige, discover a whole new world filled with sex, love, power, romance and dirty, filthy rich men.

Trigger warning and spoilers: This book might not be for everyone, there is an attempt of rape and rape fantasies by the main female protagonist.

Warning: Unpopular opinion here, you will also find some spoilers

So the prologue, Dirty filthy rich boys, introduced us to the 3 main characters: Sabrina, a 17 years old Harvard Student, Weston King, a rich 18 years old student and Donovan Kincaid, a 22 years old teacher assistant. We learned little things about Donovan and Sabrina’s past in this book but nothing for Weston. The first book, Dirty Filthy Rich Men is set 10 years after Dirty Filthy Rich Men and start when Sabrina goes to a conference where Donovan will present. I honestly don’t know what to expect about this duet. My first sentiment after reading Dirty Filthy Rich Boys was mixed but most of the side of I felt uncomfortable while reading it. I will give Dirty Filthy Rich Men a chance and hope I’ll end liking it.

Okay, so I push myself through this book but at 60% I just couldn’t anymore. I just didn’t like and couldn’t understand the main female character Sabrina. At one moment, she liked a man and five page after she liked the other and then oh let’s sleep with the first one to make jealous the second. Yeah not my cup of tea. I was waiting for a love triangle but I didn’t really get that. One of the male character is ejected from the triangle by a fake engagement but he still kiss and slept with Sabrina.While it’s not really a trigger when I read a book, it was the whole of it that make me put down this book.

I didn’t like how the dynamic between the three was, I didn’t like Sabrina neither Donovan or Weston. I am not judging but I was kind of uncomfortable with Sabrina’s fantasies. And even if the first 60% was read quite fast, the repetition scheme and characters didn’t make this story enjoyable for me. If I’d like Sabrina more I could have dealt with Donovan’s jerkiness and all the things I didn’t really like but the only thing I like was the fake engagement between Elizabeth and Weston, I thought they were funny and I hope they really end together, their couple would be awesome.

I am sure a lot of people will love it. I might end finishing it in a few weeks but just not right now. Laurelin Paige’s writing was good, so yeah it’s a case of « it’s me and not the book » kind of thing.

I don’t know if I will read the second book of the duet but I might be interested in the sequel books. I guess  we will have a book for the other 4 men working with Donovan.

I will not rate this book because I have DNF it but yeah this is my thoughts and I really hope that this book will find its public and that a lot of people will read it.

Laisser un commentaire

