Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

16096824

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release date: May 5th 2015

Goodreads
Amazon

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever

Oh guys I finally, finally read this book! I feel so much better. I saw so many people reading ACOTAR and loving this book that I was afraid to start it and hating it. This is my first Sarah J. Maas book, I know, I know. I will definitely buy and read the Throne of Glass series after that.

To be completely honest, the first part of the book was so long, interesting but so long. I was reading two chapters and then putting the book down, then 10 min after I wanted to know more about it so I picked up the book, read 2 chapters … it was a circle. So I guess even if I found the first half long it was interesting enough that I wanted to pick up the book every time I put it down. I know this is the first book of a series of 6 books if I am not wrong, so it’s totally understandable that the first book is full of long description, simply to have all the bases of this world put down. I think ACOTAR is like a giant introduction to the series. Then at 60/70% the book has more action and it was so good! That’s why I loved it much better but it wasn’t a bad read at all.

And if you don’t already know, the third book of the series A Court of Wings and Ruin will be available in May so that’s why I started this series in March just to binge read them. And I know after reading ACOWAR I will hate waiting a whole year for the 4th book. I hate waiting for books to release, I want them all at once!

Let’s talk about the characters. There was quite a lot of them so I will only talk about the principals ones.

I really liked Feyre, she is that strong 19 years old young woman that needed to hunt for her family. I liked her a little less when she was with Tamlin because she was gentler, I wanted the badass Feyre. I loved her in the last 40% of the book and it was awesome. I really liked her and I can’t wait to see her evolve in A Court of Mist and Fury.

I am curious, am I the only one not really liking Tamlin in ACOTAR? It felt like he was nice to Feyre for some reasons. I didn’t see him as a sincere character. He isn’t that bad at all, well I didn’t really like when he was possessive of Feyre but he had some sweet moment with Feyre, I am thinking about the starlight pool for example. I know lot of people love Tamlin but I am definitely not one of them. I am Team Rhysand!

Talking about Rhysand, he appears in the second half of the book and OMG! He plays the badass, jerk High Lord but I just know he will be awesome in ACOMAF. I really loved his character, he was a jerk but a nice jerk.

Another character I loved is Lucien. I think he will be a great friend of Feyre in the next books. He might not be all joy and kind but he is true. I love him in ACOTAR even if some of his advices weren’t nice. I hope we will learn more about his past in the next books of the series.

People I have mixed feeling about is Feyre’s sisters. I didn’t liked Nesta at the beginning and I guess Elain was ok. They just looked like girls interested only in money and appearance. When we saw them for the second time, I liked Nesta a little more, I think she lived some painful moment and I hope we will know more about her later. But Elain, yeah, not my cup of tea, she seems too naïve, I pray that she will change in the next books if we saw her.

Finally, I loved Sarah J. Maas writing style. She has so many good ideas and I love how she introduced to us the world of ACOTAR. A lot of people are saying that the second book is way better than the first book and if the last 40% are of any indication of what comes next, I just can’t wait!

So let’s rate this book (the rating of the cover doesn’t intervene in the average rating. Doesn’t feel right to see a rating decrease because of the cover if a story is really good):

Cover: 3.5  ⭐️                           Enjoyment: 3.5  ⭐️
Writing: 4  ⭐️                       Characters: 4  ⭐️
Plot: 3.5  ⭐️                              Pairing: 3.5  ⭐️

Average: 3.7  ⭐️

I read ACOTAR in english but I know the french version of it was release not so long ago so I will also write my review in french so people can know more about it before buying this book.

PS: I am so happy ACOTAR is my first fantasy review. I can’t wait to read more fantasy books with a side of romance.

Laisser un commentaire

