Review: What I Need – J. Daniels

29328328

Title: What I Need (Alabama Summer #4)
Author: J. Daniels
Release date: March 5th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

Riley Tennyson has made a huge mistake.

At least, that’s what she keeps telling herself.

Showing up to her brother’s wedding pissed off and newly single, Riley seeks comfort in solitude and an open bar, until the gorgeous and irresistibly charming CJ Tully makes her a better offer―a wild night with the master of smooth-talking where nothing is off limits.

Riley does what any single woman would do, and a connection is made. One neither one of them can ignore. But when she comes home to the boyfriend she no longer thought she had, Riley buries her secret and begs CJ to do the same.

Forget about each other. It was a mistake. That’s all it was… right?

Desires are hidden. Distance is kept. Until one night CJ makes the ultimate sacrifice, and Riley can no longer avoid the man she can’t stop thinking about.

Not with him sleeping down the hall…

What I Need is the fourth book of the Alabama Summer series by J. Daniels. It is the story of CJ Tully and Riley. Ooooh I so wanted to read this story! I was so intrigued by CJ in previous books. J. Daniels is one of my « go to » author, I read every book she releases and I know I won’t be disappointed. CJ’s book was a long waited book for the fan of the series (which I am), so you can imagine how excited I was when I got to read it.

CJ Tully is a friend of Ben and Luke, he is also a police officer. And yes, you will know what CJ stands for and I might say I liked it, it was so original! CJ is sexy, has a dirty mouth, is a loyal friend. Honestly, CJ is all you want in a alpha-male character. I just love him, he made so great romantic gesture (I am talking about the 5th of July). If someone does this to me, I am marrying him right this moment.

Riley, you met her in Beth and Reed’s book. She works at the charity soup with Beth and is Reed’s little sister. She is studying to be a nurse. And as much as I wanted to love Riley, I didn’t. This was my problem with this book. I loved the story, I loved CJ but I just couldn’t love Riley. Everytime I started to like her, she did something that makes me dislike her. I know she kind of had a crappy love past but she overreacted some things with CJ (I am talking about the « secret » near the end). And I found her selfish, what I mean by that is the situation with CJ and Reed, this could have been settled so quickly but no, she had to drag it. I would have prefer if Riley fought with Reed for CJ rather than what happened in the book. I know it doesn’t make sense but I just didn’t like her.

 But what a joy to read again about the three first couple and to learn some very good news about them! I really really want another book/novella about Tessa and Luke (kind of like Where we belong). I want them to have that baby they want so much!

Even if I wasn’t the biggest fan of the book (because of Riley and the beginning with Richard but like I said I LOVED CJ), I am so excited about the 5th book about Jake, CJ’s brother). I haven’t read the sneak peak at the end of What I Need because I like starting a book blind but Jake looks like a complex character that I can’t wait to meet.

I really really wanted to love this book but it didn’t give me the 5 stars vibe while reading it. I am sad because I had high expectations about it, it might be why I am so « harsh » about it. Anyway it wasn’t a bad read at all, I enjoy it really. So that’s why I will give it a 4 out of 5 stars.

Sorry CJ, you won’t dethrone Luke and Ben in my heart…

I am definitely in the minority for this book, the first reviews are just amazing ;)

P.S: Did you see the new cover for the Alabama Summer series? I love them they are so colorful! I can’t wait to add them in my collection.

Laisser un commentaire

