Review: If You Were Mine – Melanie Harlow

33286561

Title: If You Were Mine
Author: Melanie Harlow
Release Date: February 28th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

Theo MacLeod wasn’t supposed to be the one.

Tall, dark and handsome suits me just fine, but the cocky grin, know-it-all attitude, and mammoth ego? No thanks. I only hired him so I wouldn’t have to sit at the singles table again. It was just pretend.

He wasn’t supposed to kiss me. 

My heart wasn’t supposed to pound. 

We weren’t supposed to spend the night together—the hottest night of my life. 

One night turns into a snowed-in weekend away, and even the blizzard of the century can’t cool the fire between us. I can’t get enough—of his smile, of his body, of the way he makes me feel.

We’re nothing alike. He’s a daredevil, and I’m a nervous Nellie. He’s a drifter, and I want to put down roots. He’s an opportunist with a checkered past, and I’m a Girl Scout volunteer.

But none of it matters when I’m in his arms.

I know he’s made mistakes. I know his wounds are deep, and he doesn’t trust easily. I know he doesn’t believe he could ever be enough to make me happy, but he could. 

All he has to do is stay.

If You Were Mine is a standalone novel but you will find some characters from Man Candy and After We Fall in it. So if you want to know more about the two others couples present in If You Were Mine, you should read Man Candy first (Quinn/Jamie) and then After We Fall (Jack/Margot). It was two books that I really really liked in 2016 and I think I discover Melanie Harlow while reading Man Candy. I am always happy when I discover a new author and love my first book from her.

« The earth without art is just eh »

Anyway, we are here to talk about Theo and Claire’s story in If You Were Mine. Claire is a middle school art teacher, she is a girl following rules, not so adventurous. Everyone ask her why she is celibate and when she will find someone. One day, her colleague (I think her name was Elyse) asks her for the hundredth times if she will come with someone at her wedding. Tired to hear the same question over and over again and not wanting to spend the wedding at the « single table » she answers her that indeed she will come with her boyfriend. The problem is she is single so after talking to her friend Jamie, she decided to « rent » a boyfriend for the wedding. That’s when and where she met our hero Theo.

« If I were the kind of guy who said things like, she took my breath away, that’s what I’d say about Claire »

Theo is what you could call a bad boy. He made some very bad choices younger and still made some of them. He works at Hotties4Hire and also do some illegal things on the side to support his family. He don’t have confidence in himself, he doesn’t talk about how he fell but he is a guy you can count on. The cutest scenes were when he was with his three nieces and particularly the Christmas scene. Such a great uncle!

« It was both a reunion and a new beginning. A dream remembered and a story not yet told »

Their love story wasn’t easy. They had some obstacles to overcome, especially with Theo. He had to work to surpass his past and accept himself in a sense. Yes he made mistakes, lot of them, but he couldn’t have been the perfect boyfriend in 50 pages. I was angry at him for some things he did like I was angry at Claire to be so « easy » on him sometimes (I understood but I just wish she made him crawl a little more before forgiving him). It took nothing away from their amazing love story. I loved them both separately and together. The epilogue was SO lovely, good job Theo 👍🏻. But one thing I really really liked was their first meeting! Claire was a fierce little thing ^^.

One more thing, I LOVED seeing Jamie/Quinn and Margot/Jack in this book and especially Margot at the end!

Like the story, the writing was really great but I didn’t expect anything less coming from Melanie Harlow. I had to stop myself reading this book at 1am otherwise I would have read it in one seating and it’s always a good thing when you feel like that.

Time to rate this book and I’ll give If You Were Mine a 4/4.5 out of 5 stars. I had a really really great moment reading this book. I can’t wait to read more about Melanie Harlow.

P.S: And did you see that cover? Amazing work was done on the cover of If You Were Mine and After We Fall, I find them so beautiful!

Un commentaire sur “Review: If You Were Mine – Melanie Harlow

Laisser un commentaire

