Review: Dear Life – Meghan Quinn

dearlifewhitecoverkindle-1

Title: Dear Life
Author: Meghan Quinn
Release date: January 5th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

Four lives. Four stories. Four sets of letters. Four brave souls in need of guidance while facing life’s greatest challenges.

The anonymously published Dear Life program is designed to help them step outside of their comfort zones, face their obstacles, and relinquish their demons…and prove their existence.

With their lives teetering between wanting more and losing it all, all four souls dive into the program as a New Year’s resolution, sending them on a crazy, life-altering journey. 

Dear Life, 

Please be kind. 

Yours truly, Hollyn, Jace, Daisy, and Carter.

I had a hard time starting Dear Life. Why? Because I knew this story would break me. And I was right. It was like a punch in my gut. I cried with Hollyn and Jace at the beginning and then I follow their life, their chance at a second chance at life. I felt like I was with them during their journey.

This book is powerful. Yes it’s sad, raw and emotional but it gives you hope that you can move on if you want. What’s makes this book even more powerful is the letter Hollyn, Daisy, Jace and Carter are writing at the end of each chapter. You learn so much more about what they feel with this few lines every time. While reading each letter, I felt so close to Carter. I mean if I had to write a Dear Life letter, it would look like a letter from Carter. My story is more of a loss like Hollyn and Jace, but I just feel like Carter. And where is Daisy in all that? She was this little sunshine that made me smile in this book.
Honestly this story took me by the guts. It felt so close to home. I think that’s why it was hard to read because maybe I would have love to have this kind of group when I grew up.

Generally in a book, I always love a characters more than the others. In Dear Life, I couldn’t choose one. I love them all the same for different reasons. I was afraid that 4 different POV were too much but I realise that I would have missed so many things if the story were focussed on only a couple.I won’t tell you who was with who, even if you can guess, but they couldn’t have been better for each other. They completed each other and in a way they change each other too, they make the other see much more.

I really like how the character grew up in this book. At the beginning of the book they were only the shadow of themselves for their own reasons. But at the end, they become so much more. Even the second characters, I really love June and Alex, and I just can’t imagine all the pain these couples went through. It just break my heart. And when I should have hate some characters (ie Chuck and Rebecca), in the end I just couldn’t.

And should I talk about the ending? It was perfect. I really needed this book in my life right this moment.

Reading this book was a real journey. I cry so much. But it was a beautiful story, full of hope, love and selfishness. I couldn’t find the right words to express how I feel after ending this book.
Yes I was afraid to read this book but thanks God I read it. It will definitely be a book that will stay with me for a long time.

I can only recommend this book with all my heart. If you are looking a different type of story, this one is for you. You won’t regret opening this book.
My first top favourite of 2017 and the first 5+ stars out of 5 book.

Dear Meghan,
Thank you for writing this book. Thank you for making me realise that I could do so much more and so much better. And that maybe I could finally move on. This book definitely change me.
Sincerely,
M.

Dear Life,
F*ck you! But thank you too. I will do and be better.
Sincerely,
M.

Laisser un commentaire

