Review: Finding Kyle – Sawyer Bennett

33143658Title: Finding Kyle
Author: Sawyer Bennett
Release date: January 16th 2017

Goodreads
Amazon

When you’ve lived your life as a criminal…
When you’ve done unspeakable things …
When your soul has become dark and stained…

The path to redemption begins where you least expect it.

Kyle Sommerville is in hiding and doesn’t want to be found by anyone. Certainly not by his quirky, free-spirited neighbor who’s managed to push her way past the walls he’s built around him. But Jane Cresson’s indomitable will and insatiable curiosity about her reclusive neighbor makes it impossible for Kyle to stay immersed in his dark world.

Little by little, she claws through his shell.
Day by day, she gets him to smile a little more.
Night by night, they both find pleasure they never knew existed.

When Kyle’s terrible past is exposed, Jane begins to think she’s in over her head. Can her love for this broken man finally clear his path to redemption, or will Kyle’s darkness finally extinguish every bit of hope she’s put into him?

It won’t be a surprise if I tell you that I love Sawyer Bennett’s books. I love the Cold Fury Hockey series but I think my favourite is the Legal Affairs series (with Cal & Macy). I totally loved these books!

So I was a little disappointed when I started to read the Wicked Horse series and the Sugar Bowl series didn’t do it for me. I really wanted to love them. Maybe it wasn’t the right time to read them or the story didn’t click with me. I honestly don’t know. So I really was exciting when I saw that Sawyer Bennett was releasing a new book. Even if her last releases disappointed me I still wanted to read her new book, I needed to find my love for Sawyer Bennett’s books.

So let me tell you how happy I was when this book did it for me. I completely fell in love again with Sawyer Bennett’s books and it feels so good. You might have see a little bit of Kyle in the 5th book of the Last Call series (Shaken Not Stirred) and in the 5th book of the Wicked horse series (Wicked Bond). If you want to know more about Kyle’s sister Andrea, go read With a Twist (Last Call #4). To be honest I haven’t read these books before reading Finding Kyle and I wasn’t lost. Finding Kyle is a complete stand-alone.

When I read the blurb for Finding Kyle, I was so impatient to read it, I had high expectations for this book and it didn’t disappoint. I loved everything about this book (well I only have a tiny complaint).

First thing I loved is the characters. I loved Kyle, he was an undercover ATF agent. He went undercover in a motorcycle club and did horrible things to put them down, leaving him with nightmares and a lot of regrets. After being extracted from the motorcycle club, he was sent to a little city until the trial for protection. It’s there he met Jane. I loved the character of Jane. She was fun, I loved how she had a movie quote everytime. I loved how she tried to open up Kyle.
Their relationship happened so naturally. Yes they felt something almost immediately but Kyle didn’t want to pursue a relationship with Jane because he knows he is in this city temporary and he doesn’t want to start a relationship with an expiration date with Jane. Jane is all the opposite, she is the one pursuing Kyle. She really wanted him to love her. I really enjoyed seeing them becoming a couple.

The story was really good. Everything was there for something, there wasn’t too much drama and no necessary things. The tiny complaint I have (I told you I had one) is that for me, the action was too fast. I wanted it to last a little longer, maybe with someone being hurt or only that what happened at that moment in the book was longer. I know it wasn’t the focus of the story but well.

I also really like Kyle’s sister, Andrea, and her husband Wyatt. We don’t see them a lot but enough that I want to know more about them. So I guess I will have to read With A Twist really soon.

I am so happy to finally right a review about a book from Sawyer Bennett. And I am more happy to give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars. It was a really great story. If you love Sawyer Bennett’s books, I am sure you won’t be disappointed with Finding Kyle. It’s really a great book to start 2017!

 

Laisser un commentaire

