Review: Tonic – Staci Hart

db860-tonic2bebook2bcover

Title: Tonic
Author: Staci Hart
Release date: October 13th 2016

Goodreads
Amazon

Joel Anderson doesn’t take anything seriously.

Not his relationships, which have been few and far between since his brutal divorce. Not the drama of working in a tattoo parlor, which seems to be around every corner. When things get him down, he smiles and cracks a joke. But he’s not the kind of man you cross, or you’ll find yourself at the wrong end of his fists.

Annika Belousov takes everything seriously.

Like her job as a reality television producer, given that she typically has something to prove. Or her love life, which is defined by a series of requirements — affluent, ambitious, accomplished, to name a few. Definitely her family, who worked their whole lives to afford her every opportunity, a sacrifice she doesn’t take lightly. When she’s tapped to produce a reality show at Joel’s shop, she doesn’t think twice, just goes in for the kill, as if there were any other way.

The second Annika walks into Joel’s shop, he makes it his mission to crack her open, but she’s not having it. He’s all wrong — too crass, too hairy, too un-serious. But it doesn’t take her long to find out there’s more to him than smirks and tattoos. And what she finds could put her career and his heart on the line.

Not that Joel cares. Because for the first time in a long time, he’s found his tonic.

Tonic was my first Staci Hart book and what a book! First I LOVE the cover, it’s gorgeous. Then I really like the story and how it was written. It was fluid, easy to read with not so much drama.

The story is about Annika, a reality television producer and Joel, owner of a tattoo parlour. Annika and Laney (Annika’s boss) want to do a reality show about Tonic, Joel’s parlour, and his staff on their daily life. It reminded me so much of Kat Von D show, I loved it! And we follow the first stages of this reality show with all the troubles that came and went. I loved the idea!

Three steps and I was in his arms
Two heartbeats and I looked into his eyes
One breath and I kissed him

Annika is a young woman, living with her cousin and her niece (Kira was the cutest thing ever), that became hard and cold for her job, leaving her « conscience » outside. Her parents left Russia during the war and came to the US thanks to her uncle.
Joel (nickname Hairy) lives with his brother Shep, he is a tall, beardy, tattoo man (that just the type of man I love, I just couldn’t fall for him, he was so perfect). They loose both parents months apart and only have each other. I won’t tell you more about Joel’s past, there is a little story behind it, no much drama well a little bit for Laney and Annika to film ;)

Joel Anderson was at my doorstep, holding a kitten, smirking at me like a beautiful, hairy bastard.
(I honestly want that man at my doorstep, just picture it, it’s perfect!)

Honestly, at the beginning I couldn’t connect with the story. I liked the story so maybe I wasn’t in the right mood but I persevere and totally fell in love with it. Joel and Annika had what you can call chemistry! They were pull to each other from the start. My love for this couple grew at the same time as their love.
My heart break for them but that scene with the kitten was so perfect! Well done Joel! If I could have one Hairy and one Hairy 2.0 I’ll be thankful to the person sending them to me. Speaking of cat, that scene about Kaz was so sad. And so well written, It was like I was with them in the room.
Well once I connected with the story and its characters I really felt like I was with them in the book. I really like when books do that to me. I love feeling like I am part of the book while reading.

Annika is a scale of her own, and it’s statospheric

At the epilogue was perfect! I really loved it. It couldn’t have ended any other way. I just wish we had a drawing of that last tattoo Joel did. Anyway, I was so glad to read their happy ending. I will definitely read more books from Staci Hart.

Tonic was a very good 4.5 stars out of 5 for me. I can’t wait to read Staci Hart previous and future work. I am sold!

PS: I receive an ARC from Give Me Books Promotions in exchange of an honest review. 

Laisser un commentaire

