Review: The Air He Breathes (Elements #1) – Brittainy C. Cherry

25564446Title: The Air He Breathes
Author: Brittainy C. Cherry
Release Date: September 25th 2015

Goodreads
Amazon

I was warned about Tristan Cole.

“Stay away from him,” people said.
“He’s cruel.”
“He’s cold.”
“He’s damaged.”

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster.

But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty.
We were both looking for something else. Something more.
We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays.

Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe.

I will just start my review with this: the cover is GORGEOUS!! Just look at this beauty. It might be one of my favorite cover. I can’t wait to have this book in my hand.

Let’s start this review. From the blurb and the cover, i knew I was in for an emotional read. I was right, The Air He breathes is a beautiful, emotional read. I cried for Tristan, his story broke my heart.  Elizabeth’s story was sad too, but her little girl Emma makes it just a little less sadder. And this two were made for each others, they complete each others on so many levels.

« I thought I had more time, but sometimes tomorrow never comes and you’re only left with the memories of yesterdays »

This quote is so true! You need to live like it’s your last day, and tell people you love them before it’s too late.

Tristan’s story made my heart break. Each time I read a flashback, it was sadder than the last one. It was so sad to read how one second he had everything and the next one, he lost all he had. It was beautiful to read about his relationship with Elizabeth and his moments with little Emma. The only thing that was a turn off for me was the beginning of their relationship. I understood it but it was a little disturbing, but it lasted 1 chapter so it was fine. I really like read how Tristan’s personality evolved. First he was this guy other people called « monster », he was shut off, he was a tortured soul, nobody knew him and then Elizabeth came and we saw a new guy.
One thing that I didn’t see coming was Tristan’s family was killed. It was a nice unforeseen development.

« No soulmate leaves the world alone; they always take a piece of their other half along with them »

Elizabeth’s story was hard too. She lost her husband and has to raise her daughter, Emma alone. It was beautiful to read about how Emma thought her father was always with her because she find white feather. And when she lost it because she couldn’t find them outside one day, it was heartbreaking but Tristan saved the day.

Their relationship wasn’t low or fast pace, it was just right. I mean, they were searching comfort, and they found it in each others. The epilogue was perfect too.

I won’t say much more about this book. Yes it was an emotional read but such a beautiful one. It was on my kindle for so many months, I don’t know why I didn’t read it sooner. But I am glad to have read it now.
If you haven’t read The Air He Breathes, you have too. It’s an awesome book, you won’t regret it.

« Every second. Every minute. Every hour. Every day »

I need to read book 2, The Fire between High & Lo, but I am afraid of not loving it as much as book 1. Guess we will see.

Anyway, The Air He Breathes is a 5 stars for me ★★★★★. I can’t wait to have the paperback version at home. And yes, I might read this book again in the future, that’s how much I like it.

I was so into the book that I forgot to highlight my favorite quotes T.T

Laisser un commentaire

